A Dive- making me feel alive

I was 15 when the underwater life touched my soul. I remember my first foreign trip to Bangkok and Pattaya in Thailand. Underwater sea walk was something where I had one of those best feelings of my life. The colourful world deep down there had captivated me so much that I had decided to do scuba diving atleast once in lifetime. And yes! That day came up after 5 years at Andaman islands.

The beaches at Andaman are so beautiful and those blue waters were so damn heavenly. It mesmerized me so much as if those clean blue waters are calling me out for a dive! That day early morning around 5.45 I left towards the beach where official scuba diving training center was situated. They handed on a form to me for signing it. All those instructions seemed like I am signing some form which gonna later land me up on death bed! But I believe in something called ‘Opportunity knocks at your door only once’. On the top of that I have never been a professional swimmer so this was something like taking a huge risk. Well I still was pretty firm with my decision. I finally signed the form, wore the diving costume and left for the most awaited moment ‘the dive’.

There were 3 more people with me. Each of us had a separate diver. The worst part of all was we weren’t allowed to put on anything except the costume provided by them and unfortunately I was unable to see without my spectacles. Thanks to their highly magnified glasses which compensated it. The diver greeted me and taught me few signs and symbols as to how do we communicate inside the water. The most important was breathing skills as you need to inhale and exhale only by mouth. After the 10 minutes training he took me towards the deeper side of the sea and we went literally into those beautiful waters.

Those colorful fishes, corals deep down there just took away my breath for a moment! I closed my eyes for a few seconds and felt that vivid silence deep in there. Wow! Such a wonderful feel! All of a sudden I realized that the salty water was getting inside my eye-mask and into my nostrils and throat. I became a little anxious but somehow managed to get through remembering the instructions by the trainer. I was taken more than 15 feet inside but still it wasn’t even 1/6th of the whole sea life! Those lively 45 minutes inside the deep blue waters were truly memorable. And now I again have something to be proud about.

“Happiness is getting your first Diving Certificate”

Life in there is so beautiful, so wonderful. The ocean world is something totally different world. A human realizes the importance of his each breath, each moment. You learn to survive despite of difficulties. The silence in there is something that makes you feel alive more than a meditation! That was one of the memorable days of my life and I shall surely wish to learn a professional diving course. That one dive made me feel indescribably heavenly!

-Natasha Tungare

5 thoughts on “A Dive- making me feel alive

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

